StockFetcher Forums · General Discussion · Why are ETF's preferred over Securities?<< >>Post Follow-up
BlackBars
54 posts
msg #141004
Ignore BlackBars
1/15/2018 12:57:07 PM

I am no expert when it comes to Exchange Traded Funds however I have noticed that a lot of people on here seem to prefer trading ETF's over regular stocks. I would love to know why?

pthomas215
1,251 posts
msg #141005
Ignore pthomas215
modified
1/15/2018 1:14:05 PM

3 reasons. movement, movement and movement. in my opinion, simply put--if you are really confident in your position and proposed trade--you will make a lot more with that selected allocated capital for that period of time you tied up the capital.

BlackBars
54 posts
msg #141006
Ignore BlackBars
1/15/2018 1:37:06 PM

Ok, so regarding backtesting and its elements, would ETF's be a better choice to create a system off of rather than just stocks? Keep in mind curve fitting, price action indicators and such.

shillllihs
6,044 posts
msg #141007
Ignore shillllihs
1/15/2018 1:52:01 PM

Safety. What's most likely to occur, 1 stock go to zero or 200 stocks go to zero?
Leverage and good volume to name a few, plus moves seem more predictable.
Trading individual stocks has become antiquated. It's ok if you dabble though.

BlackBars
54 posts
msg #141008
Ignore BlackBars
1/15/2018 1:58:35 PM

Good point, but a lot of them follow the market even on the smallest moves which I do not totally understand. Aside from that though if I want my strategy to have a max hold of 3 days, would ETF's be better then stocks regarding short term performance?

spauken
47 posts
msg #141010
Ignore spauken
1/15/2018 2:25:52 PM